Home Politics Two PDP lawmakers defect to APC

Two PDP lawmakers defect to APC

by Meso Ejiofor
0 comment

According to reports reaching Oyogist.com, two members of the House of Representatives have left the Peoples Democratic Party to the All Progressives Congress.

The two lawmakers are Rep. Idagbo Ochiglegor representing Obanliku/Obudu/Bekwarra and Rep. Michael Etaba representing Obubra/Eating federal Constituencies of Cross River state.

Femi Gbajabiamila, Speaker of the House announced their defection on the floor of the green chamber on Tuesday.

In their separate letters read at Tuesday plenary by the Speaker, the lawmakers said they decided to leave the PDP as a result of crisis within the main opposition party.

Their defection comes weeks after the Cross River State Governor, Ben Ayade defected from the PDP to the APC.

Meanwhile, the senator representing Zamfara Central, Hassan Gusau, has resigned from the PDP.

It is not yet clear whether he is defecting to the APC.

According to Gusau, his resignation followed undemocratic tendencies in the PDP.

You may also like

Leave a Comment