Home Breaking News Obiano Suspends 12 Traditional Rulers For Traveling Outside Anambra State Without His Approval

Obiano Suspends 12 Traditional Rulers For Traveling Outside Anambra State Without His Approval

by Amadu Victor
0 comment

The Government of Anambra State, acting under the recommendation of the Traditional Rulers Council of Anambra State, has suspended 12 Traditional Rulers in the state, oyogist.com reports.

According to a statement by the Commissioner for Local Govt, Chieftaincy and Community Affairs, Greg .I. Obi, the twelve Traditional Rulers were suspended because they recently traveled out of Anambra State without consultation and approval from the State Government.

You may recall that about twelve Traditional Rulers went with Prince Arthur Eze to Abuja, seeking for an audience with the President. They were however reportedly turned down by the hierarchies in the Presidency.

Their motive for the visit is not unconnected to the rift between Gov Willie Obiano’s Government and Ukpo Born Billionaire, Prince Arthur Eze.

According to reports, Arthur mobilized the Traditional Rulers to go with him to Abuja, so they could lay a formal complaint to the president about Gov. Willie Obaino’s refusal to give an account of how local government funds have been spent since the inception of his administration.

Reacting to the development above, the Traditional Rulers Council of Anambra State went into deliberations, after which they agreed that the twelve Traditional Rulers who went to Abuja with Prince Arthur Eze has deviated from their codes and ethics.


Consequently, the Traditional Rulers Council recommended that the State Government sanctions the erring kings by a one year suspension. The Government adopted the recommendation, and has therefore suspended the 12 Kings.

Those affected are:

Igwe Alex Edozieuno (Mkpunodu)
Igwe Mark Anthony Okonkwo (Alor)
Igwe Chukwuma Bob Vincent Orji (Ezinifite)
Igwe Engr. G.B.C Mbakwe (Abacha)
Igwe Chijoke Nwankwo (Nawfia)
Igwe Nkeli Nelly (Igbariam)
Igwe Anthony Onyekwere (Owelle)
Igwe A N Onwunaeme (Ikenga)
Igwe Simon Ikechukwu Chidubem (Umumbo)
Igwe S. O. Uche (Ezira)
Igwe Dr. Emeka Ilouno (Ifitedunu)
Igwe Udoji (Eziagulu-Otu)

Governor Willie Obiano directed for the suspension of the Igweship Certificate of all the above mentioned for a period of one year, effective from 11th August 2020. According to Greg Obi in his statement of 12th August 2020, the sanction took effect since 11th August 2020, and would be lifted, renewed or upgraded, depending on the Government’s review of their conducts.

You may also like

Leave a Comment