Home Breaking News Over one million voters would participate in Lagos bye-elections —INEC

Over one million voters would participate in Lagos bye-elections —INEC

by Mustapha Olamide
0 comment

The Independent National Electoral Commission in the Lagos state said the total 1,168,790 voters would participate in the December 5 rescheduled Lagos East bye-elections.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner of INEC, Sam Olumekun, told the Nigerian news agency in Lagos on Tuesday that voters were those who had a permanent voters card in the senatorial district.

INEC boss, however, said that this district had 1,343,448 registered voters spread across 71 wards, 1,928 voting units, and 188 voting points.

Olumekun added that 280,363 registered voters from the Kosofe State Constitution II will participate in the Lagos State House of Assembly’s bye-election holding on the same day.

According to him, not all registered voters have PVCs to participate in elections.

Inec boss said that voters registered in East Lagos Senatorial District were spread across five local government areas consisting of Somolu, Kosofe, Ibeju-Lekki, Ikorodu, and EPE.

He said the registered voters for the Kosofe Constituency II bye-election were spread across the six wards located in Ketu-Alapere, Ikosi/Ketu, Isheri/Olowo-Ora, Agboyi I, Agboyi II, and Odo-Ogun/Ajegunle.

Olumekun said the Commission had improved the training of electoral personnel and Assured that the election would be free, fair, and credible.

He added that the Commission has also handled several challenges that cannot be overcome regarding the functionality of new technological innovations for election such as smart card readers and Z-pad.

Candidates from 12 political parties will be contesting in the forthcoming Lagos East Senatorial bye-election.

Eight candidates from various political parties will also be contesting with the Kosofe constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly bye-election.

The contestants for the senatorial elections are Muyiwa Adebanjo, Action Alliance (AA); Ms Mercy Adeoye, African Action Congress (AAC) and John Kome, African Democratic Congress (ADC).

Others are Adebowale Ogunlaru, Action Democratic Party (ADP); Adetokunbo Abiru, All Progressives Congress (APC); Olusola Babatope, Allied Peoples Movement (APM); Mrs Florence Trautman, Labour Party (LP) and Ms Adijat Lawal, New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The rest are Babatunde Gbadamosi, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Olakunle Adisa, National Rescue Movement (NRM); Saheed Aluko, Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Taiwo Temitope, Young Progressive Party (YPP).

The eight contestants for the Kosofe Constituency II bye-election are John Akerele, AA; Sadiq Olawale, AAC; Wasiu Saheed, APC; Adekunle Oladapo, LP; Muyideen Agoro, NNPP; Ademorin Adelaja, NRM; Sikiru Alebiosu, PDP and Mrs Mary Abojeh, ADC.

The Two bye-elections, were previously fixed for October 31, rescheduled for 5. December due to October ENDSARS protests.

Being a need to follow the demise of the former occupants who were both members of the rulling APC.

You may also like

Leave a Comment