Home Politics Abia State House of Assembly speaker, Rt Hon. Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji emerged the best speaker of the year

Abia State House of Assembly speaker, Rt Hon. Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji emerged the best speaker of the year

by Mustapha Olamide
0 comment

A year after being named ‘Best Speaker of the Year’, Speaker of the Abia State House of Assembly, Rt Hon (Engr.) Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji, has again emerged because the ‘Best Speaker of the Year’ within the 2020 Igbere TV Leadership Excellence Awards.

Orji, alias Ikuku, beat five other nominees — including Rt. Hon. Francis Nwuifuru, Rt. Hon. Tasiu Maigari, Rt. Hon. Debo Ogundoyin and Rt. Hon. Abok Ayuba — to emerge the winner back-to-back during a seven-day massive voting by Nigerians via online platforms.

The prestigious Leadership Excellence Awards, recognises and honours the outstanding impacts of leaders across several sectors and industries in Nigeria. the foremost anticipated 2020 ‘lockdown edition’ is slated for December 10 at the Sheraton Hotels and Towers in Abuja.

The Award is endorsed by the African Union Economic, Social and Cultural Council (AU-ECOSOCC), an advisory body of the African Union (AU) designed to offer civil society organizations (CSOs) a voice within the AU institutions and decision-making processes.

At a quick profiling event of the awardee Rt. Hon. Chinedum Orji on Wednesday, November 25 in Umuahia, the Abia capital , the speaker expressed gratitude to Nigerians for locating him deserve nomination and their votes back-to-back.

Describing the Leadership Excellence Awards as “most credible”, Orji lauded the Igbere TV management team for his or her sustained good works, while pledging that the 7th Abia Assembly under him will still do more.

“I am particularly happy that i’m winning this Award category once more . I thank to God, the people of my constituency, Abians, my colleagues and Nigerians at large for his or her support.

“The day i used to be sworn in as Speaker, I made a promise to myself that i need to leave the Assembly much better than I met it. After the 2019 Best Speaker of the Year Award, i used to be motivated to try to to more….

“Being named Best Speaker of the Year for the second consecutive time may be a great challenge for me; a challenge for us as a legislature to recommit ourselves to the task at hand, and do more for the people.

Read also: Chinese head contractor abducted, 1 other injured by unknown gunmen who also killed a police officer in Ekiti

“I, therefore, wish to thank Nigerians for locating me deserve this great honour and deserving of this prestigious award. This goes to point out that we’ve been doing well at the House, being monitored and watched closely,” the Abia Assembly Speaker added.

This year’s Award event would be one among the foremost outstanding and credible award ceremonies in Nigeria, as personalities within the Presidency, State Governments, National and State Assemblies, Economic Industries, Humanitarian Affairs and Human Activism are expected to grace the occasion.

Some of the awardees include, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, former Nigerian President (Foundation of the Year); Chief Innocent Chukwuma, Chairman of Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Co. Ltd. (Car Maker of the Year); Chief (Hon) Alex Ikwechegh, founding father of Alex Ikwechegh Foundation (Personality of the Year); Apostle Chinyere Chibuzor, General Overseer, Omega Power Ministries (Most Outstanding Humanitarian of the Year); and Chief Uche Nwosu, former Imo State governorship candidate and Chief of Staff to the Imo government (Hospitality Personality of the Year).

Others are: Senator Uba Sani, Kaduna Central (Senator of the Year); Gbene (Dr) Joi Nunieh, immediate past acting NDDC director (Public Servant of the Year); Dr. Betta Edu, Cross River State Commissioner for Health (Medical Expert of the Year); Hon. Sir. Melie Onyejepu, head of Anambra Bureau of Public Procurement (State employee of the Year); Chief Mrs Betty Anyanwu-Akeredolu, Ondo First Lady (Woman of the Year on Empowerment); and former Governor of Kano State, Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso, founding father of Kwankwasiyya Foundation (N.G.O of the Year).

Also on the list are, Mrs Karima Babangida, Director FDA, Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (Civil Servant of the Year); Valentine Ozigbo, the immediate past President and CEO of Transcorp PLC, founding father of VCO Foundation and frontline governorship aspirant within the Anambra 2021 election (Empowerment Personality of the Year); Justice Nuagbe a.k.a Ushbebe, Comedian of the Year; Dr. George Moghalu, director of the National Inland Waterways Authority, NIWA (Maritime Personality of the Year) and Gelor Paul, director , Dominion Oil & Gas Limited (Outstanding Social Impact Award).

While Dr. Alice Onyema, Vice-Chairman of Air Peace is being awarded as Aviation Personality of the Year; Hon. Princess Chinwe Nnabuife, CEO/Managing Director of Property Finders Limited, developers of Centage Estate, Lagos and Oil Spring Estate, bags Businesswoman of the Year award; with Prof. Georgewill Owunari, the previous Deputy Provost, College of Health Sciences (UNIPORT) and member of the Asian Pacific Journal of medicine , emerging as ‘Educationist of the Year’; and Olakunle Churchill as ‘ICT Personality of the Year’, among others.

The 2019 edition of the Igbere TV Leadership Excellence Awards which held 28th November, 2019 at the Sheraton Hotels, Abuja saw distinguished and prominent captains of industry, public figures and leaders cling on to the varied Award categories.

Prominent awardees included President Muhammadu Buhari, United States-based Nigerian billionaire medical doctor, Dr. Godwin Maduka; former President Goodluck Jonathan, former House of Reps Speaker, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara; minister Rotimi Amaech, Senator Rochas Okorcha, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu, among others.

Organizers of the Award event, this year’s edition which holds Dec. 10, has been tagged Africa’s biggest and most glamorous online media award. The programme are going to be transmitted survive DSTV, GOTV, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Zoom, Instagram and other social media platforms with over 10 million audience globally.

Follow us on Twitter: @oyogist

You may also like

Leave a Comment