Home EconomyInfrastructure Federal government approves construction of ten major highways

Federal government approves construction of ten major highways

by Amadu Victor
1 comment

For the past many years, there has been so many bad highways in Nigeria, which has made traveling very stressful in the country. As a result, many Nigerians has been seeking for the intervention of the Federal government, so as to put the roads in order.

However, according to reports on Wednesday from Babatunde Fashiola who is the Minister of works, it was revealed that the Federal government has approved the construction of ten major highways in the country. The Minister of works stated this on Wednesday while revealing the details of the plan to the National Assembly Joint Committee of Works.


Babatunde Fashiola stated that the first phase of the project would cost the federal government a huge amount of money of about N167.32 billion. He also said that about N16 billion will be spent on each of the ten roads.

He also stated that the investors are expected to provide toll plazas, rest areas, streetlights and weighbridge stations.

Below are the list of the ten roads that will be constructed :

1: Kaduna – Kano

2: Onitsha – Owerri – Aba

3: Benin – Asaba

4: Abuja – Lokoja

5: Sagamu – Benin

6: Kano – Maiduguri

7: Lokoja – Benin

8: Enugu – Port Harcourt

9: Ilorin – Jebba

10: Abuja – Keffi – Akwanga

You may also like

1 comment

Phoenix June 18, 2020 - 6:38 pm

After spend almost 200 billion naira constructing roads I better not see portholes and flood in a year or two.


Leave a Comment