Home Breaking News JAMB Hands Over 180 Candidates From Oyo, Other States To Police Over Exam Malpractice

JAMB Hands Over 180 Candidates From Oyo, Other States To Police Over Exam Malpractice

by Amadu Victor
0 comment

OYOGist.com has learned that the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) said it has handed over 180 candidates in the just concluded Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) to the police for prosecution over alleged involvement in examination malpractices.

The candidates are from Oyo, Imo, Anambra, Enugu, and others with offences such as examination by proxy, attempt to cheat, forceful entrance, tampering with examination documents, smuggling of phones into the examination halls, among others.

JAMB’s Head of Media and Information, Dr. Fabian Benjamin, said 70 per cent of the candidates have been arraigned, while others are undergoing investigation.

He said the candidates were arrested across the country during the conduct of the examination that ended last Saturday.

OYOGist.com reports


OYOGist.com reports

The JAMB spokesman said that the arrested candidates were with the police, adding that their arraignment had started.

He said: “They are about 180 candidates. We arrested them all over the country. We are harmonising the list and following up on it to ensure that all of them are arraigned.

“Most of them have been arraigned already. Seventy per cent of them have been arraigned already.

“They (the candidates) are with the police. So the police will prosecute them. We don’t have prosecuting powers. When the police start prosecution, they will certainly get across to us.

“Most of them have even been arraigned. When the arraignment is concluded, we will give you a comprehensive report..

“When we get to a stage that is important for everyone to know, we will let you know. But some of them have already been arraigned by the police.”

Imo, Anambra and Enugu states topping the list with 26, 12 and 12 candidates, according to JAMB weekly bulletin. Other states on the list of malpractices are Oyo, Abia, Adamawa, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Kwara, Ondo, and Osun.

You may also like

Leave a Comment